Orem Owlz Win 13th Straight for Franchise Record

Tom Kotchman’s 2008 Owlz won their thirteenth straight last night, surpassing the twelve won in 2003 by his Provo Angels.


The Orem Owlz set a franchise record Saturday night by winning their thirteenth straight game, 6-1 at Helena.

The old record of 12 was set by the Provo Angels in 2003. That 2003 team had Howie Kendrick, Brandon Wood, Reggie Wililts, Matt Brown, Bobby Wilson, and outfielder Warner Madrigal (now a relief pitcher with the Rangers). The team finished 54-22, but lost in the playoffs to the 41-35 Billings Mustangs. Billings pitcher Jim Paduch threw a no-hitter against the Angels in the title game.

The small irony of breaking the record in Helena is that the Provo/Orem franchise was once the Helena Brewers. The franchise moved from Helena to Provo after the 2000 season; technically speaking, it was an Angel affiliate while still in Helena, with the move announced a couple weeks later. Helena returned to the Pioneer League in 2003 after the Medicine Hat Blue Jays relocated to Helena from Canada.

The 2003 team had a .711 winning percentage. The 2008 Owlz to date have an overall record of 40-17 (.702).

Orem is all over the league leaders statistical report. The offense is first in average (.298), first in runs scored (405), first in hits (618), and tied for second in homers (59). The pitching is second in ERA (4.21), second in fewest hits allowed (505), first in shutouts (4), first in strikeouts (543), and second in fewest walks allowed (171).

Among individual achievements:

  • Roberto Lopez is first in average (.394), first in hits (86), second in doubles (21), first in on-base percentage (.475), first in slugging percentage (.628), third in extra-base hits (31) and first in runs scored (56).
  • Luis Jimenez is eighth in average (.320), tied for third in homers (11), first in RBI (51), third in hits (70), first in doubles (22), second in slugging percentage (.616), first in extra-base hits (38), and fifth in runs scored (46).
  • Jayson Miller leads the league in ERA (1.63) and is fourth in innings pitched (60.2).
  • Will Smith is seventh in ERA (3.17).
  • Recently promoted Jose Perez still leads in strikeouts with 77.

One comment

  1. twinkytodd

    Roberto Lopez is 22 years old. I’d be worried if he wasn’t putting up those types of numbers in a junior varsity circuit like the Pioneer League.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s